Final Blog for EDUC 407

sIt is almost over! I must say that this class has been really resourceful for me and my future. Over the course I worked with new and old technology tools and resources that allow teachers and students to work together. According to the syllabus for the class students would work with current technology resources by analyzing and learning how to incorporate them into lessons. While learning how to use these resources students would act as the educator, the student, and the peer by participating in various individual, small group, and large group assignment.

Now that the class is just about over I can say that I successfully completed the class according to the student learning outcomes. During this course I was able to use some really cool resources like google docs, Edmodo, YouTube, and many more. These resources are really great and learning how to correctly integrate them into our lesson plans was the over all goal of EDUC 407. I think by participating in the individual and group projects it gave me multiple perspectives and that is why I can say I successfully completed the class.

During this class I think the project that I most liked was creating the Cell Phone Fairy Tale. This project was a challenge for me because not only was time consuming it was my first time creating a video and putting it together as a whole. For this project students had to work individually and alone to create a whole fairy tale story. I think it was really unique because we all used different props and pieces to create the story scene. I think as the educator you can see the individual creativity, but also you can see how the group worked together as a whole. As the student I stressed about all kinds of things from my tone to how fast or slow I was reading. Although the project was to incorporate technology I think I had to use a lot of grammatical and literature sources as while.  little red

The last learning outcome for the class was building and finalizing a WebQuest. This project was an individual project and I must say was also a challenge. A majority of this class is was based on Project Based Learning and this project was different. The hardest part for me was creating a question. I have created one other WebQuest in the past and it is not the easiest thing to do. However I think in this class because I learned how to use a lot of different tools and it made creating the WebQuest a little easier and a lore interesting. I must say overall this class was very useful and taught me a lot about technology and how to use it in the classroom!

 

2 thoughts on “Final Blog for EDUC 407

  1. I agree with you, Michelle, that this class was very useful and taught us about a lot of useful technology that we can use in our classrooms. I was a little skeptical about what I would learn that could be used in a Physical Education classroom but I was pleasantly surprised to find many useful apps and activities. Prior to this course I had incorporated the use of pedometers, heart rate monitors, and a variety of music into my classes. I also tried to incorporate a lot of partner and group work. But it never occurred to me to try something like a Webquest. Now however, after developing a WQ for Physical Education, I’m looking forward to presenting it to a class.

    Like

  2. Michelle – your webquest sounds like a lot of fun for fifth graders. Water cycles are not always the most interesting thing to study so I liked your intro page with the dinosaur. It does give the kids something to think about. I also learned a lot of things in this class that I had never thought of using before. The cell phone fairy tale was fun and I can see using something like that for the kids to develop a workout video to be shared with other grade levels as a brain break.

    Like

Leave a comment