Cloudware

cloudware

Cloudware is perhaps one of the greatest tools needed in not only the educational field, but every other profession that deals with interactions and collaboration. Cloudware runs off remote internet and software. In schools it is common to see programs like google docs, google classroom, picasa, etc. all of these programs allow students and teachers to collaborate on small and big projects.

For me personally, cloudware is something that I find useful. I have used many cloudware programs to complete my credential and I find that most of these programs are easy to use. I think that it becomes very useful as a college student to be able to access your documents at work, home, in the classroom, or wherever you are. I know that for me as a part time student, a full time employee, and a full time mother it becomes extremely important for me to do my work whenever I get the chance. I like using google docs because it is free and it is something very similar to Microsoft Word. I also use my gmail account often for work and educational purposes.

I do think that there are some downfalls with cloudware. First, if your computer does not have the right security protection viruses and leaking of information becomes extremely high. In this case documents and important information can be stolen. Another thing that can cause this to be a downfall is that not everyone has access to the interent all the time and sometimes the interent goes down. Unless you are saving things constantly sometimes when the interent goes down so does what you are working on (google docs is great though because it saves your documents every so often). And unless you are always somewhere there is internet then there are times when you might not be able to access your documents.

As an educator I have found all cloudware to be helpful because students in the 21st century are prone to use technology more than half of their day. I know that with my school we use google classroom with our teachers and students. We also have a google document that can be updated and edited for our small group instruction classes. Another thing we use is something similar to facebook it is called edmodo. With edmodo our students can get on and have interactions with other students and teachers. I think it is important for our students to use technology because they are better prepared in the future. 20130925-scientists-of-the-future.jpg

2 thoughts on “Cloudware

  1. Hey Michelle, great post!
    I completely agree how useful cloudware can be as a college student and future teacher. I have found myself amazed at all of the new programs we are learning about. It is scary to think that there are risks of using the different cloudwares. Before this class, I have never used Edmodo. It seems like a great resource for teachers and students to be connected for educational purposes.

    Like

  2. Hey there! I love how you mention it was important to doing your work. I found that I was using the cloud without knowing I was using the cloud. All these new ways of moving around information has become the norm that we don’t realize how innovative it really is compared to when we were younger.
    Great write up, and thanks for making me think more on the subject!

    Like

Leave a comment